hat trick

ok I know I said I was going to bed but I just finished watching the last episode of the Colbert Report and it truly feels like an end of an era

I first chanced across Colbert while watching tv in America- either in a hotel room or in one of my brother’s dorms on a visit and I vividly remember him doing the Wørd sequence and thinking ‘wow American tv is gr8′

I watched him, intermittently across my secondary school years, and discovered that you could watch all of his episodes online in JC. This was about the time I had to go up and make announcements to the school for the students’ council, and whenever I did it, no lie, I would watch the colbert report the night before, and I would go up with that in mind – no matter how ridiculous your script or how sarcastic you feel, sally forth with a stentorian voice and a glint in your eye. I remember watching the Democalypses, Obama’s election and re-election, Colbert Super Pac, Colbert in the Persian Gulf – endless, endless brilliance and even when the jokes overreached and missed (and you could tell, even with an enthusiastic live audience) he just sailed on through with that twinkle in his eye. I was more informed about the world and America through the Colbert Report than anything else.

And now it’s come to an end – a magnificent, cameo-laden end. The Daily Show will still be on, John Oliver has got his own program but Colbert will always be in a league of his own, gloriously flying in the face of reason on the back of a bald eagle. I look forward to watching him take over the Tonight Show, and to usher in a new generation past Letterman but it won’t be the same. Happy memories.

Thanks, Stephen.

Leave a comment